Get your free website from Spanglefish



Craig Cup (cruiser racing): Donated by Bill Craig, one of the club's founder members.
Maxwell Trophy (cruiser racing): Donated by Alistair Maxwell, one of the club's founder members; now used as junior helm trophy.

Buchan Cup (cruiser racing): Donated by Buchan Main, a former commodore and long-standing member.

Harvey Salver (cruiser racing): Donated by John Harvey when he left the club to move to Fort William; now used as ladies helm trophy.

Taylor Tankard (cruiser racing): Donated by Owen Taylor, former member.

Shelan Trophy (best cruising log): Donated by Alan Gent-White, former out of port member; named after his yacht Shelan. This trophy is to encourage members to keep a log of their trips.

Wilson Pursuit (pursuit race cruisers): Donated by Hugh Wilson, one of the founder members and the first Commodore.

Lawson Trophy (cruiser racing): Donated by Betty Lowson, in memory of her late husband; Betty formerly served as club secretary.

Sweetheart Trophy (cruiser racing): Donated by Pam Moore in memory of her daughter Nancy Duke who was tragically killed in an accident in London. Nancy's ashes were scattered in the Moray Firth off Nairn to be near Sundancer, the dolphin she had adopted.

Windermere Rose Bowl (cruiser racing): Donated by club member, Ken Kilham; to be awarded to the best Nairn member sailing on Lake Windermere.

Nairn Quaich (cruiser racing): Donated by club member, Ken Kilham; to be awarded to the best Windermere member sailing at Nairn.

Tony Thame Trophy (cruiser racing): Donated by Pam Thame in memory of her late husband Tony – a stalwart member of our club.

Polaris Trophy (cruiser racing): Donated by Tor Torklinson, a Norwegian who set up business in Nairn building and repairing boats.

Club Championship (champion on CYCA): Sextant in box donated by Tor Torklinson.

Challenge Handicap (champion on fun handicap): Donated by Ian George and Anne Glover to encourage more boats to take part in the club races.

Sarabu Trophy (dinghy racing): Donated by Heather Main; the tapestry was made by her mother Morag; donated to the dinghy section which was flourishing and short of trophies!

Chapman Painting (dinghy racing): Painted and donated by Paul Chapman, one of the founder members of the dinghy section.

Boot (best cock-up): Donated by Taffy Gardiner, the club's barman – he used to sit at the window waiting for the boats to come in… and he noticed a few cock-ups in his time, so donated the boot for a laugh. The winner of this must fill it at the club dinner dance and pass it around.

B.I.C.Trophy (second-best cock-up): Bill Fairburn won this Trophy in Gibraltar when he was stationed there, and somehow it ended up in Nairn…

Open Trophy (open cruiser race): Donated by Buchan Main for the club's regatta weekend, to be given to the best non-Nairn boat taking part.

Nan MacLean Trophy (cruiser racing): Donated by Nan MacLean's sister; Nan used to holiday in Nairn and loved to sit and watch the yachts sailing; on her death she instructed her sister to organise her ashes to be scattered on the Firth; and in memory of her sister she had the trophy commisioned and donated to the club.

Macrae & Dick Fast (cruiser racing) Donated by Macrae & Dick Nairn to the club's NSYA regatta.

Macrae & Dick Slow (cruiser racing) Donated by Macrae & Dick Nairn to the club's NSYA regatta.

Thank you to Buchan Main for compiling this list.
Click for Map WikanikoWork from Home
site map | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement