Get your free website from Spanglefish




Nairn Sailing Club Celebrates Success in Dinghy and Cruiser Racing



Nairn Sailing Club Celebrates Success in Dinghy and Cruiser Racing


Nairn Sailing Club recently held its prize-giving evening, celebrating the success of both dinghy and cruiser racing sailors during the 2014 season. The event, held in the clubhouse by the harbour, was very well attended. The awards and trophies were presented by Lacey Hogg  and John Maher (club commodore 2012-2014).


Lacey began by highlighting what had been a very successful season for the dinghy section. Success had been attained

both at home (at the club's dinghy base at Whiteness), and away through the Scottish traveller series. Trophies were then awarded to Ewan McPhail (1st in the “Topper” series and winner of the Fred Woodcock Trophy for fast handicap dinghies) and Maddy Pearce (1st in the “Optimist” Series and winner of the Trophy for slow handicap dinghies). Maddy Pearce was also presented with the club's new trophy for 1st place in the overall dinghy championship. This trophy was generously donated to the club by members Robin and Charleen Jones, in cherished memory of Charleen's late sister Norma Ewan, and was hand crafted in silver by club member and silversmith Rhiannon McGilvery.


Always a very popular part of the prize-giving at the sailing club is the award of the Paul Chaplin Trophy for the most improved dinghy sailor(s) of the season. This time, the award was shared between Jasmine Robertson, Adam Watkins and Lachy Hogg and reflected their great success in the prestigious IOCA Dinghy Traveller series, a gruelling set of regattas involving the top young sailors from right across Scotland.


The cruiser racing season was also highly successful, with all the events except the Harvey Salver being run, and the races being held across a wide range of sailing conditions (sea state and wind strength) on the Moray Firth. There was also a variety of courses, from short races (on one tide) around the club marks in Delnies Bay to all-day races (between two tides) across the whole Firth.


The Maxwell Trophy for the best junior helm of a racing cruiser was awarded jointly to Matthew Scott and Maddy Pearce (sailing “Charlie”). The Craig Cup was won by “Charlie” helmed by Mary Chaplin, with the remaining 8 race trophies (Buchan Cup, Taylor Tankard, Wilson Pursuit, Pelorus, Sweetheart, Nan MacLean, Tony Thame and Lowson Trophies) and overall club championship being won by “Alouette”, helmed by Ken Killham. Second in the club championship was “Charlie”, helmed through the season alternately by Paul and Mary Chaplin, and third was “Seamoon”, helmed by Ross Forgan.


The Shelan Trophy, one of the oldest trophies in the club and appropriately in the form of a vintage, brass sextant, is reserved for the best cruising log, and was awarded to Paul and Mary Chaplin who had submitted a beautifully illustrated account of a sailing cruise around the Ionian islands of Greece.


The challenge handicap trophy for the first cruiser in the race series under club handicapping was won by “Charlie” (helms- Paul and Mary Chaplin), with “Alouette” in second place and “Seamoon” in third.


Undoubtedly, the award which always attracts the most attention at the sailing club prize-giving is the infamous “glass boot”, awarded for the most amusing miss-hap of the season. The dubious honour for this nautical version of the wooden spoon went to Ken Killham.




Click for Map SSPC - Property in Scotland
site map | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement